Watermelon Water (Agua de Sandia)

IMG_0336

What can I bring?

Celebrating a holiday is usually more fun when you get to spend it with other people.  One year we played Dutch Blitz after enjoying grilled hamburgers and potato salad at coworkers’ house. My boss explained that Italian salad dressing is the secret to his potato salad’s flavor. This year we’re heading north to eat with friends from church. Blueberry picking and tour of the chicken coup may be part of the fun.  When I asked what we could bring, they suggested watermelon.

Since I had the afternoon free, I decided to dig out my X-ACTO knife and carve something into the rind. This makes it difficult to empty the watermelon of its fruit. I needed to preserve a container without cutting through the design. So I sliced a quarter of the melon out, then cut the dark pink part into cubes.

After sorting out the pretty pieces, there were still a lot of rough pieces and not all of the fruit was very pink. Rather than throw it out with the garbage, I put it in the blender and saved it in a pitcher. Ta da! Watermelon might not be the first fruit you think of when you ask for juice, but it can work. img_0337.jpg

Categories: Food and drink, Fruit | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

