Browsing for Inspiration. a.k.a Window Shopping

Saturday afternoon might not be the best time to go shopping, especially since so many other people think it is the only time to go to the mall or another shopping center. However, I did exactly that this weekend.

I’d thought ahead and made a list, in an effort to not be overwhelmed or frustrated while looking at the various options. The internet had served as a tool to check that what I was looking for even existed in real stores. The list included practical need-like wants for my wardrobe, as well as a line that suggested I look for some stationery.

That last line was my excuse to visit Home Goods. Stationery is something good for your home, right? Of course, you probably wouldn’t find it in the gourmet foods section of the store, but perhaps in a nearby aisle…

Although I did pick up  several items (silicone spatulas, a copper double-walled coffee press, a package of gluten-free coconut macaroons dipped in Bavarian dark chocolate, a box of Turkish delight candies…), I set them back down again when I saw the long line of people waiting for a turn at the cash registers.  A 4-pack of bottled soda (pop!) caught my eye. The description said that it had ginger with vanilla and a slight kick of lime. Rather than pull out my notebook to scribble this down word-for-word, I just repeated it in my head several times as I headed for the door (empty-handed).

Although my shopping trip wasn’t a complete success, I was able to make it home in time to prepare some hamburgers for supper.  We were gaining an hour overnight with Daylight Savings, so I decided to use the time to experiment. At first, I thought to mix vanilla and lime juice into our own bottle of gingerale, but I wasn’t confident of my skills at mixing drinks. Instead I flipped through some British cookbooks for a basic recipe for a lemon biscuit or a gingersnap.

The result was tender rather than crisp, so I may have to make a few more batches. I plan to adjust the ratio of flavorings as well, in order to taste more of the ginger and lime.

img_3359

LEMON Ginger-Vanilla-Lime CRUMBLE BISCUITS

makes 12

2 oz butter

4 oz all-purpose flour

3 oz white sugar

1 large egg yolk

grated rind of 1/2 lime

ginger powder

vanilla

grated sweetened coconut flakes

Preheat oven to 325* F.

Prepare baking tray: grease or silpat.

Cut butter into the flour.  Add the sugar, egg yolk, vanilla, ginger powder and lime zest and mix well. Using floured hands, knead the mixture to a smooth dough in the bowl. Cover and chill in the freezer for 15 minutes.

Remove the dough from the freezer. Divide it into 12 equal pieces. Roll each piece into a ball about 1 inch in diameter. Place these on prepared tray and flatten them with fork tongs, making a pattern. Dip each cookie in the shredded coconut and place them back on the baking tray.

Bake the biscuits for 15 minutes until very pale golden. Remove from them from the oven and leave them to cool on the trays for 2-3 minutes before carefully lifting on to a wire rack to cool completely.

 

Categories: Cookies and Candy, Food and drink, Herbs and Spices | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

