Bit o’ Bailey’s, Bread & Butter

He stuck in his thumb, and pulled out a plum, and said, “What a good boy am I!”.

Having returned from traveling, I thought it best to use up some of the aging ingredients in my kitchen.  2 eggs, half a loaf of whole wheat bread, and an open bottle of coffee creamer seemed just the things to throw into the oven.

My husband and I had taken a short walk in one of the metro parks, and although the sun was shining and the skies blue, the air was still nippy.  Too soon will come the days when we want to spend as little time as possible in the kitchen. For now, I’ll enjoy warming up with freshly baked goods at home.

As I was tearing up the slices of bread, I was afraid that my “bread pudding” would end up as soggy, baked French toast. Nevertheless, I continued by beating salt, the coffee creamer, and the two eggs, before adding in some melted butter. When I couldn’t locate raisins I decided to substitute milk chocolate dipped plum bites. I scattered these over the torn pieces of bread, then poured the liquid mixture into the dish.

Since I wasn’t really following one recipe, I went back and forth on the temperature. I started off at 350º F but then decided to increase the heat to 450º F since I was using a toaster oven.  Then I turned the setting from “bake” to “broil” in an attempt to give the pudding a golden top. So…I can’t tell you how to copy.

If I tried again, I would want to use a stronger bread, like a baguette, to give it a more appealing texture. The flavor was good with the chocolate and Irish Creamer.

If you want an official recipe for bread pudding, I recommend Betty Crocker.

Bread Pudding

Categories: Food and drink | Tags: , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

