Two Leeks Later

Leek salad from the Polish Kitchen at the North Market.  My husband has fond memories of the tasty side dish that he ordered one time we were there for lunch. I’m still trying to figure out how to make something similar. Online, there is a video of a Polish woman preparing her version of leek salad; it includes peas as well as Gouda cheese.

Although the flavor of the Gouda didn’t stand out, I was a bit tickled to see that the cheese I had in my fridge was from Fairbault, Minnesota, a town between Owatonna, where I went to college for a semester, and the Twin Cities, where I spent the first ten years of married life.

Leek Salad with peas and Gouda

You are instructed to slice only the white part of the leeks. Then you put them in a bowl and pour boiling hot water over them. After five minutes, they are supposed to be tender.  The leeks’ odor reminded me of paint, but the flavor was not strong at all.  Since I didn’t have sour cream on hand, I just added a bit of milk to the mayonnaise that was called for; that made the sauce too thin.

Overall, it wasn’t a bad side dish, but it wasn’t a showstopper, either. The Gouda could have been put to better use.

Ingredients:

-3-4 leeks
-3-4 cooked eggs
-1 cup corn or peas
-1 cup grated or diced Gouda cheese
-3 tbsp Mayonnaise
-3 tbsp sour cream or natural yogurt
– salt and pepper

Categories: Food and drink, Vegetables | Tags: , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

