Rustic

Rustic Fruit Dessert whole

Mixed Berry Pandowdy

Between doing some loads of laundry and driving my husband to work on my day off, I stopped at the library. Surfing the internet isn’t always as inspiring as flipping through glossy photos, so I grabbed a few cookbooks from the 641.86 section of the stacks. There wasn’t enough time in the day to decide on anything right away, so I left the three books on our kitchen table.

The next afternoon, I got home in time to talk to my husband for few minutes before he had to head off to his evening job. He pointed with smiling eyes at the cookbooks and said that he was interested in a rustic fruit dessert (the title of the one on the top), but unfortunately didn’t have enough time to wait. A kiss and a hug later he was on his way out the door, and I had a pleasant assignment for the evening.

After looking through the recipes in the three cookbooks, I decided on one recipe to build off. Joel had already eaten an apple that morning, so I was going to make something with berries. The “gingered pear and raspberry pandowdy” on page 88 would be transformed into a mixed berry pandowdy: no pears or crystalized ginger in our pantry tonight.

Rustic Fruit Dessert liquidThe preparation is pretty simple, and since it is a “rustic” dessert, you have more flexibility with the presentation of the finished product. The crust was golden with just enough crispness on the outside to contrast with the inside. The fruit filling was a bit runny, but that could have been my mistake; I didn’t mix the lemon juice with the cornstarch before adding the first pint of berries, so only the last half of the fruit got the paste coating. IMG_1303

Mixed Berry Pandowdy

Fruit Filling
1/3 cup granulated sugar
2 T + 1 t cornstarch
pinch of salt
1 pint blackberries
1 pint raspberries
1 lb strawberries
1 T lime juice
1 T cold unsalted butter, cut into small pieces

Biscuit Crust
1 3/4 c all-purpose flour
3 T + 1 T granulated sugar
3/4 t baking powder ( I might try less b.p. next time; I could taste it.)
1/2 t salt
10 T cold unsalted butter, cut into small cubes
1/3 c chopped dried pineapple snack chunks
2/3 c + 1 T cold buttermilk (I substituted milk and lime juice.)

(Instructions to be included sooner or later)

Categories: Dessert, Food and drink | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

