Break for Lunch

beef stew with chili beans and corn chips

This morning my alarm didn’t go off. When my husband gently nudged me to mention that I was sleeping in, I was shocked to see that the clock showed I had ten minutes to get to work. Since I had laid out my clothes the night before, I was able to run out the door and clock in only 3 minutes late.

However, I didn’t have time to put things into a crockpot before leaving in order to let the flavors meld for a few hours. The night before I had seared the beef stew pieces and simmered them in turkey broth with some hot green sauce, leftover from an Indian restaurant.

When I got home I just threw some canned tomatoes and chili beans, frozen corn, and the beef with broth together. While the stew heated through, I combined some avocado with lime juice and salt.  A bit of shredded cheese on top made a simple side.  I finished off the stew with a bit of the shredded colby jack and chopped cilantro.

The meat wasn’t as tender as I might have liked, but overall the lunch was successful.

Categories: beef, Food and drink | Tags: , , , , , , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Break for Lunch

  1. sound delicious on a cold day and very inventive.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

