Pollo Gaseoso

Please, forgive my poor Spanish.  This evening I opened my freezer and found it more full than it should be. Perhaps it does have a greater number of items stashed in there, but that’s not what I’m referring to.

One of the grocery stores is featuring Mexican Flavors of food this month. Several days ago I purchased some seasoned pork and seasoned chicken that were part of this special focus. Although I knew I was capable of marinading my own meat, the price on the packages was good.

Unfortunately, the saying, “You get what you pay for”, too often is true.

When I went searching in the freezer today, I noticed that one package of pollo asado was almost ready to burst. The plastic that encased the other portions of chicken and pork still clung tightly to the frozen meat, so I thought it couldn’t just be a reaction due to the difference in temperature.

A quick search on the internet confirmed my fear. Most likely, spoiled chicken is producing gas that causes the packaging to expand.

My ServSafe certification may have expired several years ago, but I remember enough to know that avoiding a case food poisoning is worth more than a toying with a package of questionable chicken.

Adiós, señora gallina.

frozen chicken

 

Categories: Food and drink | Tags: , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

