Trying Tri Tip

My husband has worked in many different kitchens. Most of them were fast food, but not all of them. I (think I) remember that he used to have little slips of papers with recipes from The Polaris Grill. He also used to talk about different cuts of meat that they had in the kitchen where he worked during college years. One that I wasn’t familiar with was called “tri tip”.  When I came across it in the meat section this week, I decided it would be fun to try.

Image

Since the meat was already seasoned, I didn’t need a recipe. I just needed a method. Grilling was one recommendation, but I latched onto the suggestion of rotisserie heat. My sister had given me a toaster oven with a rotisserie rod, and I had never given it a whirl.

rotisserie oven reflectionWith the instruction booklet, it wasn’t too difficult to figure out how to piece things together.  Meanwhile, I let the meat set out to come sort of close to room temperature (like they say you should for steak). Once the meat was speared and set in place I just had to sit back, watch and wait.

One internet recipe told readers to use high heat for 15 minutes, then lower the temperature to 350*F for the meat to continue cooking another 20 minutes. Then, you were supposed to remove the meat and let it set for 8 to 9 minutes to make sure you wouldn’t let the juices escape when cutting it.

Since my husband was eager for a morning walk (and I wanted to go along), I kept strictly to the time specified and put the piece of meat in the refrigerator, straight from the oven.

When we got back 2 hours later, I sliced up the meat and it was pink, but not bloody. Not a huge fan of rare meat, I warmed up the thin slices in a frying pan before using them in our lunch pitas.

pita beef tri tip

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

My other sister (not the one who gave me the toaster oven) asked how it turned out.  The texture was pleasing; too often I end up with tough meat when working with steak. A bit less of the seasoning would have been fine. After all, isn’t it the flavor of the meat you are after? Tomorrow, I plan to finish off the rest of it. We’ll see how it goes as a second-day leftover.

Categories: Food and drink, Meat, Sandwiches | Tags: , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

