Don’t Cry Over Spoiled Milk

Kroger had a half gallon of whole milk  as a “Manager’s Special” for $1.99.  Since the expiration date on the bottle was not near, and because every so often it is nice to indulge, I bought it.  Unfortunately, when my husband opened it and poured some into my cup of tea, it curdled.

What can you do with sour milk? Bake biscuits? Knead up some bread?

Why not cheese? Cheese is an aged milk product after all, right? It isn’t really as simple as that. However, I did find out that you can use sour milk to make cottage cheese. It is even easier than making mozzarella.

heat milkBring 1/2 gallon of whole milk to 185*F.

Remove your pot of milk from the heat.

Add 3 Tablespoons of vinegar to the milk, to form curds.

strain curdsSeparate the whey from the curds with a fine strainer.

Place the curds in a separate bowl and break them up into the desired size.

Add a little bit of NOT SOUR milk or cream to the curds along with 1 teaspoon salt.

cottage cheeseTa da!

I mixed some of our home made cottage cheese into spaghetti with red meat sauce (I didn’t have time to make lasagna). I plan to have some more with fresh pineapple chunks tomorrow.

Categories: Cheese, Food and drink, Science | Tags: , , , , , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Don’t Cry Over Spoiled Milk

  1. I made ricotta before and the kids asked me to not do again so because it was stinky. Was this stinky?

    • I did not notice any strong smell while making the cheese. The final product does not have an unpleasant odor, either.

  2. I just tried this! It turned out really well. We had 2% milk that went sour, and though I don’t think 2% gave us as many curds as whole milk would have, it tastes just as good (or better) than what we buy in the store. I was expecting a more vinegary taste, but it’s really quite mild, and there’s no smell at all. Thanks for posting the recipe.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

