Baking Bundt Bread

Image

When My sister asked for a special cake pan for Christmas, I started noticing things-Bundt in the world around me: Silicone Cathedral shaped molds online, NordicWare Bundt Tea Cake pans, Mini-fluted pans at Michaels.

The pretty photos tempted me to buy something for myself, too. However, I didn’t want to justify the price to purchase something that would spend most of it’s life in the shadows of my kitchen cupboards. Two people can only eat so much cake, and most of my friends are pretty good at making treats for their own families.

Savory is another thing. When I found a Bundt recipe book on clearance at HPB with a section devoted to savory breads, I gave in. Well, I gave in to spending $2 on the book, not on spending $20+ on a fancy pan. My mom had given me one of her extra Bundt pans, so I was set.

Since the temperatures have been far below average, turning on the oven sounded like a good idea. It was time to give Bundt bread a try. No “emergency store run” was necessary for the ingredients: A bag of fresh spinach leaves, some frozen garlic cloves, poppy seeds, and a wedge of Parmesan cheese were in my fridge.

The process was much like making cinnamon rolls. You make a batch of white bread dough, let it rise, then roll it out into a rectangle. Instead of spreading it with butter, cinnamon and sugar, you saute onion, garlic and spinach add salt, nutmeg and Parmesan. Grease your Bundt pan and sprinkle it with poppy seeds. Place the rolled up bread dough in the pan and let it proof for 45 minutes, or until doubled. Bake it in a preheated 350*F oven for 35-40 minutes. Remove the pan from the oven and inver it onto a cooling rack.

Enjoy it “plain” or with your favorite tomato sauce.

 

Categories: Food and drink | Tags: , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

