Ranch Cheeseburger Mini Meatloaves

I’m trying to think up good things to send in Joel’s lunch.  Since hamburgers aren’t at their best microwaved, I thought I could just season and brown some ground beef and send it crumbly. When I went to Allrecipes.com to find the Stacey’s Hamburger Seasoning Recipe that had worked well for my sister, the front page was featuring mini meatloaves made with quick-cooking oats instead of breadcrumbs.

“Hmmm,” I thought, “Joel likes the brown sugar & ketchup sauce that comes with meatloaf. Maybe I should try this. I do have a box of oats just sitting in the cupboard.” While two 1/4 hamburgers defrosted in the microwave, I reached to the back of the top shelf in my kitchen.

“When and how am I ever going to use that packet of ranch seasoning mix?” A while back, Dollar General had a deal where if you bought certain products you would get sausage at a reduced price, so I gave in and paid for the packet so save money. “Might as well mix that in with the meat and cheese”.  As I tore open the packet, I saw that my idea wasn’t original. The suggested recipe on the back was for ranch cheeseburgers.

Here is my combination of the two recipes:

Ingredients

1 egg
1/4 c milk
1/2 packet ranch seasoning
1/4 c quick cooking oats

1/4 cup colby-jack cheese, shredded
1/2 lb ground beef

Instructions

Preheat the oven to 350* F.

Liquify the egg, ranch seasoning and oats in a blender.  In a large bowl, combine the shredded cheese and ground beef. Add the liquid from the blender and stir the ingredients until you have a uniform mixture.

Divide the mixture into 8 equal portions. Form each portion into a ball and place them evenly apart on a baking sheet. Bake them for 45 minutes, or until cooked through.

IMG_9280Right now, they smell so good that I don’t think they’ll need the ketchup sauce. I don’t think the brown sugar sweetness would compliment the ranch cheeseburger, anyway.

Categories: Cheese, Food and drink, Meat | Tags: , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

