Does Size Really Matter?

As the holidays approach, magazine and blog articles encourage us to resist the temptation to indulge in feasting. One of the tips they suggest is to use a smaller plate to trick your mind into thinking you’ve got a sufficient portion.

Image

Of course, satiety is more complicated than that.  I’ve heard that the quality of food is a factor. The French might be satisfied with their small plates, because the ingredients are so rich.  With me, that might work when applied to chocolate, but that’s about it.

Americans are known for their super-sized portions. Some say that because the quality is lower, we have to eat larger quantities to feel full. Personally, I think I could enjoy eating three or four cheap Totino’s party pizzas without the help of any teen-age boys.

From a negative perspective, though: it was easy not to eat my whole “half order” of Chinese take-out this weekend, because it just “wasn’t interesting”, as my husband put it.

Image

Disregarding the quality of the food you are about to eat, there is one tip that has proven effective to me. For some reason, if I drink a glass of water with a tablespoon or two of apple cider vinegar before eating, I can’t finish my lunch. It may be really tasty, but I just am too full to want to stuff more into my mouth.

So, how should you approach the feast? Down a glass of apple cider vinegar and fore go the celebration? I don’t think so. Look at the choices before you load up your plate (big or small). Think about which items you know you like. Think about which new ones you would like to try. Choose some for now, and remember that there probably will be leftovers the next few days and/or repeats at Christmas. And, remember a big part of the celebration is sharing with others, not hoarding it all for yourself.

 

Categories: Food and drink | Tags: , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

