Mom’s Coleslaw

Saturday morning I went to Kroger to buy groceries. Although there were a few more customers than I would run into mid-weeek, it wasn’t difficult to navigate the aisles. One thing that was crowded was the deli shelf. When I looked for a container of potato salad, not only were their different brands to choose from, but also different “styles”. Would you like American, Southern, Mustard, or Egg & Mustard style? Surprisingly, they didn’t have “German” potato salad alongside.
Seeing so many different options should have turned a light on in my brain, warning me that I wouldn’t be satisfied with someone’s definition of potato salad that was prepared to please the general public.

When you want food fast and easy, you make a sacrifice. So running against the clock for lunch preparation, I bought a pound of egg & mustard potato salad. We ate it, but the texture was a bit mealy (not that I’m very good at getting potatoes boiled just right), the dressing a bit thin and more on the vinegar-flavored side.

 
One thing that I know I only like home made is coleslaw. My mom’s recipe is a perfect balance of sweet & creamy with just enough kick. I called her yesterday so that I could type it out and put it on the blog so that I don’t have to interrupt her dinner preparations next time.

1 bag shredded coleslaw mix
1/2 cup mayonnaise
2 Tablespoons lemon juice or apple cider vinegar
2 Tablespoons sugar
salt and pepper to taste
a little bit of mustard

Mom's Coleslaw

Categories: Food and drink | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

