Mango Ceviche con Aguacate

mango civiche con aguacateCeviche, I believe, is supposed to be a dish where seafood is cooked by the acid of lemon juice rather than heat.  I’m not terribly fond of seafood, and even less fond of the idea of risking illness from raw fish. However, a post from a Colombian chef’s blog tempted me to try his version of  Ceviche de Mango Verde con Flores Comestibles ( Mango ceviche with edible flowers). His recipe didn’t include any shrimp or fish.

You should be disappointed in me, though, because even after driving all the way out to Trader Joe’s and Whole Foods Market, I didn’t buy any edible flowers. TJ didn’t carry them, and the ones at WFM looked pretty pathetic. I could have stopped at a garden center for a flat of marigolds, but I didn’t have much faith that they wouldn’t have sprayed everything with pesticides.  Perhaps I should have made friends with Alejandro while Joel and I were living in Bogota, and I could have asked to visit his garden. Then I might have gotten some good ideas of what to plant here.

The end result, tonight, was more of a pico than a plate. The pieces were big enough to use a fork, so I didn’t open up the bag of tortilla chips. I’m interested to see if the leftovers will turn brown overnight, or if the lemon juice will keep the cubed avocado green.

Ingredients: Avocado, Mango, Red Onion, Tomato, Aji(Cilantro, Olive Oil, Serrano Pepper, Salt, White Vinegar, Water), Sugar

Categories: Colombian, Food and drink, Fruit, Salad, Vegetables | Tags: , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

