Midnight Snack

You learn many things from your parents. Using coupons is one of those things. I remember my mom going through the slippery ads that came with the newspaper while the rest of us took turns reading the comics that came in color on Sundays.  Sometimes I got to fold along the dotted lines and tear out the coupons that looked interesting. A lot of the time coupons really aren’t for things that you would buy, but since the price is cut it seems reasonable to try the product.

One of my latest coupons wasn’t for something that I wasn’t familiar with. It had just been quite a long time since I had eaten them.  Maybe even twenty years have passed since I had one of the Post Original Big Biscuits.

When you look at picture of the giant Shredded Wheat splashing into a bit of milk on the cereal box, you might wonder. Who’s going to eat something that doesn’t fit into a spoon, much less your mouth?

If my memory serves me right, instead of  waking up at midnight for a snack, we would eat some cereal before bedtime.  Sometimes, we would heat up a cast iron skillet. We would toast one of the Shredded Wheat biscuits in a tablespoon or so of butter.  Then, we would put it in a shallow puddle of milk.  Some people would break it up into smaller pieces. Others would just dip it and bite off the end.

A few weeks ago, I decided to yield to the coupon temptation and buy a box of Big Biscuit Shredded Wheat. It didn’t hurt that Kroger had them on sale.

I enjoyed my portion, and sent a pack (they are wrapped in threes in paper packages) home with my parents.

Post Shredded Wheat Big Biscuit

Categories: Food and drink | Tags: , , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Midnight Snack

  1. Heidi

    What enormous happiness.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

