Lamb & Cheese

Lamb.  I’ve tried to cook it before; I didn’t cut any corners as far as cost goes, either: it was real Icelandic lamb from Whole Foods Market. After one bite we tossed it and headed to Wendy’s.

So, why did I give in and buy two 1-lb packages of ground lamb that was on sale at Kroger recently?
Maybe it has to do with memories: a sandwich in an Israeli restaurant in Bogota’s Candelaria, an gyro at a Greek place in Minneapolis…
Last week I was flipping through an Icelandic cookbook that my mother-in-law gave to me for Christmas one year. The dishes with lamb in them don’t call for anything fancy. Most of them just season the meat with salt & pepper.
But, it wasn’t a plate from the Land of Fire & Ice that I ended up preparing. Rather, I turned to the Emerald Isle. Island, not continent, refers to Ireland, in case you get confused and think I’m writing about Colombia a country famous for it’s esmerelda jems…although you could say they both have the ingredients: sheep and plenty of potatoes.
Anyway, I decided to bake a Shepherd’s Pie.
In Minneapolis, Joel and I went to Claddaugh Irish Pub & Restaurant several times. Joel often chose this as his entree. They substituted beef for the lamb in their recipe.
This week, I didn’t substitute, although I did leave out the rosemary, since my spice rack isn’t quite up to speed in our new apartment.

Joel isn’t eager to try lamb again. He’s happy with his chicken, beef or pork. So, I gave a small portion to my parents, have some set aside for my sister, and a bit left over for lunches while Joel is at work this week.

Today I microwaved one portion. The flavor was different, but it wasn’t offensive. The packaging claims that American is milder, so perhaps that is the trick. My husband isn’t one to be fooled, though, so this is as far as my experiments with lamb will go for now.

Shepherd’s Pie

instructions at AllRecipes.com

6 medium potatoes, peeled and quartered
1 tablespoon butter
1/4 cup sour cream
2 oz Irish cheddar cheese, shredded
salt and ground black pepper to taste
1 egg yolk
2 tablespoons milk
1 onion, diced
1 pound American ground lamb
1/3 cup all-purpose flour
Lawry’s seasoned salt and ground black pepper to taste
1 teaspoon dried parsley
1/8 teaspoon ground cinnamon
3 tablespoons ketchup
3 cloves garlic, minced
3/4 cups water
1 1/2 cups frozen peas and carrots, thawed

Categories: Cheese, Food and drink, Meat | Tags: , , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Lamb & Cheese

  1. I remembered that it was the land of potatoes before you mentioned it.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

