White Cake

While waiting in line at Juan Valdez yesterday afternoon, Joel commented on the baked goods that they have for sale: first the banana cake, then the white vanilla cake. When he asked if I could make “that” white cake, I decided to give it a try.  Unfortunately, I hadn’t really looked closely at the slices of  desserts; I had paid more attention to the name cards.  So, was Joel expecting something dense like pound cake, or something lighter in texture?

I debated this, as well as whether or not to frost the cake, as I walked back home through the park. Two stops later I had purchased a ripe peach and a package of instant whipping cream to go with whatever I ended up baking.

Allrecipes.com provided a popular (by rating and comments) recipe with common ingredients.  Because I don’t have muffin tins, I split the recipe in half then greased some coffee mugs to place in the convection oven. I also decided to experiment with 2 of the mugs in the microwave.

Results:

One microwaved cake was a failure. The core was hard and burnt.

The second microwaved cake was better, because I put more batter in.
However, the texture was not as moist as the ones baked in the oven.

The last four mugs were baked in the convection oven. The texture was more moist, but only as moist as a non-pound cake can be. The cupcakes peaked. If I remember correctly from my days working in a General Mills laboratory kitchen, this is due to over-beating. There is a reason the recipe tells you to mix until just moistened.

Ingredients (for 6 cupcakes):
1/2 cup white sugar (if you have a sweet tooth, you might want more sugar)
1/4 cup butter
1 egg
1 teaspoon vanilla
3/4 cups flour
3/4 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 cup milk

Cream together the sugar and butter, before adding the egg and vanilla. Sift together the flour and baking powder before stirring these dry ingredients into the creamed ingredients. Add the milk and mix until just moistened. Bake in greased mugs in a preheated (400*F) oven for 20 minutes, or until the top of the cake springs back when touched lightly.

Categories: Desserts, Food and drink, Science | Tags: , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

