Chocolate: Cool as a Cucumber, Creamy as an Avocado

Having one’s wisdom tooth pulled limits the menu options for several days post-surgery.  I started out blending up spinach with mashed potatoes and chicken broth and enjoyed some rum-raisin ice cream the first few days. Next, I threw together a corn casserole mush, before graduating to crackers that could dissolve if the pieces were small enough to maneuver into the mouth that didn’t want to open very wide. Peanut butter would have been perfect, except that we prefer the chunky type.

This morning I was reading through a free cookbook that I had put on my Kindle. The recipes were supposed to encourage the reader to eat desserts that were more simple…for example: raw fruits instead of cooked with sugars.  Since I had a rather large avocado maturing in my refrigerator, one of the recipes caught my eye. It was for “chocolate mousse”. Yes, I did say chocolate mousse and avocado in the same sentence.  Although I used real milk, the original recipe was dairy-free (almond or rice milk).

I didn’t turn on my Kindle to look at the exact ingredients and measurements.

Here is what I threw together:

1 large, soft, green avocado (NOT the small, black ones)
1/2 cup milk
1/4 cup sugar
1/2 teaspoon vanilla
1/4 cup cocoa powder

Blend all ingredients together, adjusting the amount of liquid in relation to the size of your avocado. Pass the “mousse” through a sieve to get rid of any chunks that remain. Pour into glasses and refrigerate until ready to serve.

Categories: Dessert, Food and drink | Tags: , , , , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Chocolate: Cool as a Cucumber, Creamy as an Avocado

  1. Interesting! Could you taste the avacado, or was the chocolate flavor stronger?

  2. This morning, I handed a small glass to Joel and said, “Wanna try it?”.
    He responded “Avocado and chocolate?” before taking a small spoonful.
    “Hmmf! Kinda works!”
    There might be a slight tinge of green color that could give it away. It is hard to judge about the flavor, though, since I know what the ingredients are.

  3. Ah. It does have an aftertaste of avocado. Next time, shall I sprinkle it with red pepper and call it choco-mole?

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

