AlmojabaNOTs

Colombian cheese bread. One is named an almojabona. Perhaps you remember me posting about my first attempt to bake them and them turning out too salty? Well, the other day I got a comment on that post. An apparently  up-and-coming chef here in Bogota gave me a link to his recipe.

Image

Yesterday afternoon I was able to purchase of costeño cheese, so this morning I decided to try his recipe. Inkeeping with what I learned in the laboratory kitchen when I worked on the sensory panel at General Mills, I followed the recipe as closely as possible. As I was forming the dough into lemon-sized balls, it didn’t appear to be moist enough. So, I just made two so that I wouldn’t waste an entire batch.

Image

While the two test almojabanas were baking I divided the rest of the dough in two. More butter to both and to half of the dough I added an egg.

Image

Result? Both were still crumbly. The first had good flavor. The second spread a bit more (desirable), but lost some flavor in the process.

Image

The crumble factor wasn’t the only difference that I notice between my homemade breads and those you might buy at a Colombian bakery. The texture is grainy. Am I using the wrong corn flour? Do I need to let the dough rest longer to absorb the liquids?

Several recipes from different countries are available on the internet:

Surecetasdecocina.com.ar includes uses campesino cheese, maicena and sugar

comidadecolombia.blogspot.com is more or less the same as the one that Alejandro has posted.

chefuri.com uses cuajada and no wheat flour

Categories: Bread, Cheese, Colombian, Food and drink | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “AlmojabaNOTs

  1. Originalmente las hacen con maiz que pelan con ceniza, las mejores que me he comido son de Choachi, detras de Monserrate como a media hora, un pueblo muy lindo, y segundo el queso costeño es generalmente un queso seco y salado que se desborona facilmente, en cambio la cuajada es mucha mas mojada, mas elastica y mas fresca pero con menos sabor. Mi consejo seria mezclar los dos quesos o buscar el queso costeño mas fresco y menos seco que encuentres. Cuando quieras vamos a Choachi y hacemos un articulo al respecto!!!!

    ~~~~
    Uno de mis lectores me acaba de hacer caer en la cuenta que escribi 200 grados centigrados y son 300, depronto por eso la dejaste 20 minutos a 200 grados cuando son 15 a 300. Lamento mucho el malentendido y muchas gracias por tu articulo.

    ~ Alejandro Cuellar

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

