Nuez Moscada

from the botanical art collection of Marianne North

Even though I live in Bogota, I think I’ve got four seasons in my blood.  It is autumn in the USA and many of my friends and family members are posting about drinking apple cider and eating fresh baked goods.

Cinnamon is almost taken for granted in the list of ingredients for fall desserts. However, when you mention nutmeg a puzzled expression might come to your listener’s face.

A few years ago, my school home economics teacher gave my mom a nutmeg seed complete with it’s red aril of mace.  When my mother shared it with me, I was surprised and delighted. To someone who had only ever seen nutmeg in the powdered form, the seed looked other-worldly.

With the increase of interest in culinary arts, whole nutmeg is easier to find nowadays. Who wouldn’t prefer to grate just enough of the fresh spice into their recipe?

Eggnog, apple crisp and custards are just a few things that you might consider sprinkling with nutmeg.  If it is to your taste, the spice has also been suggested as a flavoring for vegetables.

Word of caution: a little bit goes a long way.

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

