Berry Good Pie

When will we ever learn, “If it ain’t broke, don’t fix it“?

In the AllRecipes.com tradition, I have once again found something good online, only to change it.  This time, it was a recipe from someone I know: our pastor’s wife in Minnesota has 2 posted, and I decided to try her Fresh Strawberry Pie.

Unfortunately, when I went to buy the strawberries, there weren’t 6 cups of ripe ones. After picking out the ones that weren’t half-red half-white, I had to supplement with a few cups of moras (mullberries?).

Pie Crust is not my strength. Even with a super-simple recipe, my dough wasn’t looking pretty, and I found myself wishing that Jessica VanderMolen was here to do the job.

While the crust baked in my convection oven, I started to prepare the fruit. The strawberries were easy to chop in halves. The moras a bit more messy to rid of their green-leaf tops.

After bringing the cornstarch-sugar-fruit mixture to a boil and stirring it for the prescribed minute, the sauce was still a thin liquid. I spooned the fruit into the pie crust then poured the liquid over the top. I had about 1/2 cup too much, which I saved for some random future recipe adventure.

Three hours later, I pulled the pie out of the fridge. Hurray! The sauce had solidified (gelidified?) enough to hold the slices intact.  A dollop of nata-mani (cream with peanuts) ice cream and a cup of espresso made a nice afternoon snack.

Categories: Cheese, Dessert, Desserts, Food and drink, Fruit, Uncategorized | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Berry Good Pie

  1. Janice

    Yea!! I’m so glad it worked for you! I was nervous while I was reading that it didn’t turn out. Even though the picture is beautiful! Glad you could enjoy. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

