Special: Lomo de Cerdo

Exito. Usually it is a good idea to have a grocery list when you go shopping. This is especially true if you’re going to have to carry everything home; only so much fits into a book bag.  Some days it’s worthwhile to have flexibility. This week I wandered through the meat department and noticed that pork loin was on sale. However, I decided to pass it up because the past few times we’ve eaten pork in Colombia, we haven’t felt very well afterwards. The next day I was trying to decide what to prepare for lunch. Even though most of the recipes in the few cookbooks I currently own aren’t your every-day fare, I started to flip through one, looking for ideas.  Page 83 had a beautiful photo of a slice of pork loin with apple-wedge garnishes. So, I decided to take the health risk (last time I bought from a neighborhood butcher) and buy a small package of pork.

Liudmila gave me one of those cookbooks with really nice photos but kind of expensive ingredients. Most of the recipes you can only afford to drool over. She isn’t the kind of person that thinks that you have to use exactly the same ingredients that a recipe calls for, so I didn’t feel bad exercising flexibility and substituting.  The recipe on page 83 was the base of my lunch.

Filetes de Cerdo con compota de moras y manzana

4 slices of pork loin
butter
sea salt
sazonador carne de cerdo (garlic, oinon, paprika, fine herbs)

arándanos agrios

1 granny smith apple, peeled and sliced
berry marmalade ( I had some home-made from strawberries and arándanos agrios)
juice of 1/2 lime
1/2 teaspoon yellow Trifogon seasoning (garlic, onion, cumin, pepper)
apple wine? (I don’t remember if I put some into the sauce or not!)

Categories: Food and drink, Fruit, Meat | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

