Hard To Swallow

Witch Tomato

This strangely shaped tomato was near the top of the pile of tomatoes in the crates at our neighborhood store. At first I was going to set it back down. However, I thought that some of my readers might enjoy seeing my find. There weren’t any rotten spots or blemishes, just the extra arm (nose? tail?).

When I asked Joel what he would like for tonight’s supper, he answered, “Tomato soup and grilled cheese sandwiches”.  Tomato soup is one of those things that I could very easily live without. Well, I do like my mother’s method of dowsing a Sunday roast with the canned soup for an all-in-one-pot meal. However, just tomato soup is…well, too tomato-y for me. Maybe someday I’ll grow up.

Or perhaps growing up means enjoying the real thing, made from scratch.  In the USA you can easily purchase the canned concentrate and add milk or water. Here in Bogota you’re more likely to find packaged powder. Either way, they taste fake, because they are.

Rather than running downstairs and across the street to buy a package, I decided to try to make my own tomato soup. If I had waited longer, the soup would have thickened more to some people’s taste. However, 45 minutes simmering was okay with me for my first try.

Grilled Cheese and Tomato Soup

Tomato Soup

2 medium-large tomatoes, peeled and chopped
2 cups water
1 chicken boullion cube
7 leaves of fresh basil
1/2 cup whole milk
1 Tablespoon butter, unsalted

Place all the ingredients except the butter in the blender and process them until relatively smooth. Pour the liquid into a medium-sized saucepan and add the butter. Heat the soup to boiling, then immediately lower the heat so that the liquid just simmers. Stir the soup as frequently as you need to in order that it doesn’t boil over or only thicken on the sides of the saucepan. The soup should be thick enough in 45 minutes.

Serve with grilled cheese sandwiches or slices of  crusty French bread.

Categories: Food and drink, Uncategorized, Vegetables | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

