Crepes Sebastian

my practice crepesThey’re just pancakes, right? Sort of: crepes are thinner, because the liquid: flour ratio is different. They should also have a caramelish flavor, according to a note on Allrecipes.com by a French culinary arts instructor.

Yesterday morning, I made a practice batch to see if the 1 hour refrigeration step was necessary (apparently not).

Today, Juan Sebastian took his first turn in my ESL kitchen and made some pretty satisfactory ham and cheese stuffed crepes. finished product

Ingredients

  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cup milk
  • 2/3 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 pinch salt
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons vegetable oil


While we were enjoying the finished product, Juan Sebastian suggested that it could be considered a late Mother’s Day gift.  I think his mom was proud.

Nubia and Juan Sebastian


Categories: Food and drink, Uncategorized | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Crepes Sebastian

  1. dandelionmom

    The 1 hour fridg step lets all air bubbles rise and pop out of the batter so the crepes do not have holes. (We got a fancy-pants crepe-maker with very detailed instructions as a wedding gift-made crepes with roast beef and a horseradish cream together one of our first married nights 22 years ago)

    • Katrina

      Thanks. I figured that there was a reason, but wanted to see if they would at least still taste good and look allright. With the 1 hour limit to my ESL classes, we don’t always follow instructions to the T.

  2. RBauder

    I made these tonight for Wayne! They were fabulous. I’ve just got a question about when to flip. The up-side was always still runny after a minute on the griddle, and the batter went everywhere when I flipped. (I am, by the way, a clumsy flipper on the best of days.) Should I just let the crepes cook until they’re solid on top before turning them over?

  3. Rachel, I’m glad you got to use the recipe. As far as timing and flipping: the note from the professional French chef says to cook for only one minute when using very hot temperatures. However, the Allrecipes instructions say to let the crepe cook for 2 to 5 minutes on each side. I think that I remember reading somewhere that you can know it is ready to flip when the runny side is no longer glossy…it is dull. Don’t worry about the clumsy part. You just have to practice. I’ve also found that usually the first one in every batch never turns out well. That ugly one is the one that the cook gets that one as an excuse to taste test ( :

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

