Pumpkin Pancakes

Oatmeal and pancakes aren’t usually part of our breakfast vocabulary. To me, they seem to be foods that fill you up quickly, but don’t really stick long.

However, every so often, I miss the childhood breakfast and whisk up a batch of pancakes for myself.

Today, I’ve got a large hunk of auyama squash in my refrigerator, and I’m looking for recipes. I already made a pie (maybe better termed a souffle, due to the amount of eggs I put in) over the weekend.

Whether or not you’re an avid fan of pancakes, I think this photo from another blog may brighten your day:

You Are My Sunshine

Pumpkin Pancakes

2       Eggs
1 ¼    Cups milk
4         T melted butter
3         T pureed orange squash
¼       Cup sugar
½       teaspoon salt
1 ¼    Cups all-purpose flour
½       teaspoon baking powder
½       teaspoon baking soda
½       teaspoon brown sugar

Syrup for serving
Butter for preparation

Beat the egg, milk, butter, squash, sugar and salt for two minutes. Sift together the remaining dry ingredients. Combine the two mixtures and stir well.
In a greased or non-stick frying pan, pour 1/4 cup of the mixture. Allow the pancake to cook for 2 minutes. Flip the pancake, and allow it to cook for another 2 minutes before removing it from the pan.
Serve with syrup or decorate with fresh fruit.

Categories: Food and drink, Fruit, Vegetables | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

