Saucy

Our bottle of Valentina’s hot sauce is just about exhausted. Since I hadn’t seen it on the shelf at the store where I bought it several months ago, I decided to take the bottle to the store to ask if they had some stowed away (or if I was just blind). Earlier, I had sent an email to the company, but had not received a reply. The cashiers took my almost-empty bottle and asked other employees, but to no avail. Surtifruver "definitivamente" does not have  Valentina’s hot sauce.

This evening, before returning the last few teaspoons to the refrigerator, I looked at the label to see what the ingredients were.  Hmmm. Nope. I don’t have any serrano chiles on hand. . .However, I do have that stash of dried chiles that Loyda gave to me. Maybe I should look up a recipe and try my hand at making my own sauce.

So, that’s what I did. And of course, I changed this Mexican Dried Chile Sauce recipe just a little bit.

Ingredients:

About 2 cups, loosely packed: dried arbol chiles, stemmed

water & 

1 cup chicken broth (leftover from when I made ajiaco: so it had some guasca flavor to it)

1 T pre-mixed seasoning of garlic, pimenton, cumin and food color powders

1 T soy-olive oil

Instructions:

Toast the dried peppers, just long enough that you can start to smell them. Add enough water to cover the chiles. Bring the water to a boil, then lower the heat so that the liquid can simmer. Cover the chiles and let them simmer for about 20 minutes. Transfer the chile mixture to a blender along with 1/2 c of the cold chicken broth (if you turn on the blender with hot liquid, you will be unpleasantly surprised). Blend the liquid for about 30 seconds. Strain the liquid and then return it to a pan. The process will go more quickly if you use a frying pan instead of a sauce pan. Add the oil and cook this mixture for a few minutes. Next add the remaining chicken broth. Stir the mixture and cook it until it reaches the desired creamy consistency. Add salt if you desire.

 

 

Categories: sauces & condiments | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

