BRRRR Bananas in Bogota

It can be tricky knowing what to wear when you go out in Bogota. The mornings can be chilly enough to recommend a scarf. However, if you’re walking some distance in the sun a few hours later, you’re bound to want to strip off your jacket and even wish that your bookbag had special ventilation layers between it and your back.

The other morning I decided to take a walk to scope out apartments and also do a few errands.  Happily, a thin fleece was appropriate for the time of day.  My last stop was at the fruit and vegetable store. I didn’t have a list, so of course I gave in to the promotion of the day = "todo a mil" for a large bag of over-ripe bananas.

I still had at least half a bag of the pecans that Deborah brought with her, so I decided to look for a banana bread recipe that included nuts. I opted out on raisins and coconut, because not everyone likes them.

The first batch I took to my morning class students.  Then this afternoon I baked another batch without pecans, but sprinkled with some pieces of apple leftover from our lunch.

Let’s see if I can remember the ingredients from memory:

3 very ripe bananas, 1 t white vinegar, 1 1/2 c sugar, 2 eggs, 1/4 c butter, 2 1/2 c flour, baking powder and soda, salt, cinnamon

Mash the bananas very well and mix in the vinegar. In a separate bowl, cream together the sugar, eggs and butter. Combine this mixture with the banana mash. In the empty bowl mix together the dry ingredients before combining them with the moist stuff.  Pour the batter into a greased casserole. Bake in a preheated 350* oven for about 45 minutes. I don’t know how you would adjust it for loaf pans. I’m terrible at getting the middle of quick breads to come out solid.

 

Categories: Bread | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

