Simple Sweets

You don’t always need a lengthy recipe for a satisfactory dish.  This morning I had some errands to run, so I bought this fruit cup on the last leg of my trip.  I could have bought more papaya and mango, and perhaps a banana, if I had bought the fruit and cut it up myself, but if you’re always thinking about the most economical option people are going to label you as stingy instead of smart.

Experts suggest that eating fresh fruit instead of juice is better for your health. The juice lacks the amount of fiber that you get in the pieces. After all, in hospitals they give juice to induce an insulin response, no?

If you’re not worried about your sugar levels, you can make your fruit salad a bit more interesting with a creamy liquid addition.

One of my friends prepares a home-made condensed milk. She uses powdered milk, but I don’t keep any on hand.

Combine melted butter, milk and sugar. Pour it over the chopped fruit. If you like it, you can sprinkle some shredded coconut on the top.

 

 

Categories: Fruit | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

