Manuela’s 1st Sponge

It’s a good idea to try a new recipe before teaching it to someone else.  Several days ago, I used a "Colombian" recipe from a book called The South American Table.  My ESL student had chosen a recipe for a passion fruit torte that included the sponge cake.  However, when I started to prepare the lesson, I realized that there was no way we could bake and assemble everything in the one hour we have for class. The truth is, without electric beaters (Cool Whip is hard to come by.), I couldn’t whip the cream for the mousse either!

One of my Colombian friends said that for authentic Biscochuelo  I needed a special flour (achira). So, I decided to teach Manuela a regular sponge instead.

  

Categories: Desserts | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Manuela’s 1st Sponge

  1. Pat

    it looks delicious! did you save me some?

  2. Katrina

    I’ll have it for you on Tuesday evening.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

