No Cheap Cheddar

Someone left a block of cheddar cheese in the wrong part of the dairy case at Exito. For a split second, I dreamed that Colombians had finally decided that cheddar should be one of the common cheeses along with mozarella, parmesean, campesino, etc.  But I couldn’t find the orange block’s home and price tag.

On my way home I resisted the temptation to suggest we eat out for lunch since we had already been to WOK on Monday night and I had bought lunch "para llevar" (to go) for Joel on Friday when I wasn’t feeling well.  While considering what to prepare (not rice, he had that for breakfast…not pasta, we were having that tomorrow…), I remembered a box of little packets of powdered cheese that was sitting on one of the kitchen shelves at home.

"I wonder if that would work to make augratin potatoes? It’s been a LONG time!"

And so, I stopped for a few potatoes and a bag of crema de leche before climbing the 5 flights of stairs to our apartment.

 

 

Categories: Cheese | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

