Sister’s Sausage

When you move to a different country, you try to adapt to the new culture. You try to enjoy the differences. Sometimes, though, you long for something that isn’t readily available in their grocery stores.
The other day on Facebook  I was sort-of lamenting that the ingredients for lasagna are very expensive. I realize that they aren’t cheap in any country, but when I started to add up the cost at a grocery store in Bogota, I decided it really wasn’t worth it.
For a minute I considered substituting hamburger for the spicy Italian sausage to cut back a little on the price. But really, why make something  with inferior flavor?
My sister that lives in Korea replied to my FB post suggesting that I could make my own. The following recipe is from her.
 
SAUSAGE
1 lb. pork
1tsp. salt (the recipe says not table salt, but that’s all I’ve ever used, and it’s fine.)
1/4 t. pepper

1/2 t. sage
1/8 t. ginger
1/4 t. nutmeg
1/4 t. thyme
1/4 t. paprika
2 oz. water

Mix all spices and water in a bowl, then add to the pork. I cover it with plastic wrap, and let it sit in the refrigerator overnight.
That’s all!! Yummy.

~ Linda Rupert
 
 
 
Categories: Meat | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Sister’s Sausage

  1. Katrina

    I always just use ground beef or turkey for lasagna. But I was interested in Linda’s recipe for sausage. I always thought it was an involved process that one had to do when slaughtering an animal in the fall ! Then I went to some website and saw an even simpler recipe, that is with fewer spices. I didn’t have Allspice, but I do have cloves and ginger, so I put in thyme, oregano, and basil cloves and ginger, and pepper, of course; perhaps a bit more than called for. I just made two patties and waited for Dad’s reaction. "It tastes like sausage." This time, " nothing ventured, nothing gained" turned out okay. Hoorah ! I used ground turkey, since we usually don’t eat pork. Thanks for the idea! Love, Mom (Jean Zartman)

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

