Variety

Joel usually encourages me to stick with normal recipes. However, when I mentioned that I was considering baking cinnamon rolls for Christmas, he suggested that perhaps I make them with arequipe instead of cinnamon and sugar.  I didn’t have either on hand, so I bought both at the cooperative in our neighborhood. Half of the sweet dough was spread with butter, raisins,cinnamon & sugar. The other half with the arequipe and chopped apple.  The slices of swirled dough barely fit into my glass baking dish. The sticky fillings bubbled up, out and over the tops of the rolls. 

We of course had to eat several, since they are only good fresh Tongue out  In the end, we both decided that the traditional cinnamon rolls were better than the arequipe. I think that part of it was the texture. The brown sugar kept its granular consistency; the arequipe was sort of slimy. 

Categories: Bread | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

