American as Apple Pie

Monday, we had hamburgers at Ruby Tuesday with the 3 Europeans that came over to work at Joel’s employer, Digital River last week, so I had to come up with something else American to feed them on Saturday.  We broke up our tour of The Twin Cities with dinner at our apartment.
Menu:
Fresh Guacamole
Corn Tortilla Chips
Chili Con Carne
Cornbread Muffins
Apple Pie
Squirt soda
Decaf Gevalia Vanilla Coffee

The recipe that I referred to called for 8 medium-sized apples.  When I made an apple pie in culinary arts school, I didn’t have enough, and so I was determined not to repeat the mistake, but didn’t want to overdo it, either. After peeling 6, I decided to finish off with 2 small ones. This time around, the pieces all fit, but the pie looked like a mountain more than a plain.

For the crust, I followed Betty Crocker’s recipe, but used half crisco and half unsalted butter.
For the filling and crumble topping, I looked at  Pam Anderson’s recipe in The Perfect Recipe Getting I Right Every Time- Making Our Favorite Dishes The Absolute Best They Can Be. She is the Executive Editor of Cook’s Illustrated magazine.

Categories: Food and drink | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

