“Aoh! That Brown Onion Sauce…”

Joel ordered a chicken dish that came with whipped pea mashed potatoes when we were in Limerick, Ireland.  Moll Darby’s and the Grille Aubars both served their chicken with some sort of onion sauce that Joel has been raving about ever since.  He’s not even sure what the flavor was, so it is difficult for me to try to come up with something even remotely similar. 
This morning while he read and drank coffee at the library, I browsed the shelves of cookbooks.  Two books on French food were in my stack to check out.  Three poultry recipes in  "the food of france" by Sarah Woodward have an onion sauce.  Tonight I adapted the chicken cooked in cider (pg. 73) recipe according to the ingredients available:
 
4 frozen chicken tenderloins, defrosted under cold, running water
dried rosemary leaves
powdered sage
salt
black pepper, freshly ground
apple cider vinegar
 
2 T butter
3 T finely chopped red onion
1/2 c frozen apple juice concentrate
2 heaping T low fat sour cream
 
I spent some (too much) time cutting the tendons (?) out of the chicken and cut each into 3 pieces.  I patted them dry, then sprinkled them with rosemary, sage, salt, and pepper. I left these in the refrigerator to marinade in cider vinegar. After about 10 minutes, I brushed the rosemary leaves and cracked black pepper corns off.  Since the pieces were not uniform after I had sliced away at the undesired tendons, I divided the meat into equal piles before placing them on a lightly oiled baking sheet.  They cooked at 425* F for 20 minutes. 
Meanwhile, the onions sauted in the melted butter over low heat in my medium-sized cast iron skillet.  Once the onions were fragrant and tender, I added the apple juice concentrate.  When the chicken was done in the oven I transfered the pieces to the skillet and put the setting down to low before covering the pan.  Right before serving up the roasted baby carrots and the whipped peas and mashed potatoes, I added sour cream to the butter and onion to make a sauce. 
It didn’t thicken as much as I would have liked, but it tasted okay.  The chicken seemed dry to me, but that’s the way Joel prefers his poultry. 
 
 Another onion sauce calls for morel mushrooms, red currant jelly, and white wine… 
 
Categories: Food and drink | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

