Firstfruits

This evening I read about rhubarb in a few of the reference books that sit on the short bookshelves in my kitchen.  A lady that I’m helping plan a retirement open house for was trying to duplicate a cakemix adaptation that a friend had made, when I arrived to discuss our party menu. She wanted to know how much sugar I would recommend adding to the rhubarb in order to cut back the sour character of the vegetable. I had to admit that I don’t ever use rhubarb.  When my siblings and I were kids we enjoyed crossing the street to cut rhubarb from the neighbor’s backyard, but I never really developed a taste for it. When I returned home, I decided to do some research in order to stay "on top of things" concerning culinary arts. Nothing new and exciting jumped off the pages in my ingredients encyclopedia or the fruit & vegetable gardening book (that my parents found for me at a thrift store).
However, Google did have two recipes that caught my eye:
 
RHUBARB CUSTARD CAKE

 

1 yellow cake mix (2 layer size)
4 c. cut up rhubarb
1 c. sugar
1 pt. whipping cream

Prepare cake mix according to directions. Put into a 9 x 13 inch pan. Cover batter with rhubarb, sprinkle sugar over rhubarb. Pour whipping cream over ingredients. (Rhubarb sinks with cream to make custard while baking.) Bake at 350 degrees for 50 to 60 minutes or until cake springs back when lightly touched. (Store leftovers in the refrigerator.)

(Pilgrim Lane)

 

If you are tired of cake, try Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie .  This would be a good use of two Spring "fruits".

 

Categories: Food and drink | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

