Sticky Situation

Labor Day is the last day of the Great Minnesota Get Together (the state fair).
Fair food is noted for being anything "on a stick". Olivia White had 2 foot-long corndogs on Friday!
Reflecting on sticks, I remembered learning how to make candied apples in junior high home economics class.
So (foolishly, an hour before we had to be at Ben & Andrea’s for bbq chicken, etc.)  I decided to use my leftover apples to make a treat.  
The recipe called for corn syrup, which I did not have on hand, so I got out the maple flavored pancake syrup. As long as I wasn’t sticking to the recipe, why not use brown instead of white sugar?! A few grains of salt…no problem. 1 cup water.
Bring ingredients to a boil, stirring constantly. 
Okay. Now what?
Let mixture simmer at 280* without stirring.
Aaa! The red liquid in the candy thermometer is NOT moving, and my brown sugar syrup IS–out of my pot and onto the stove!
Don’t you love the smell of burnt sugar?
To make a long story short, I turned off the heat and cleaned up my sticky mess.
When we got back from bbq at the Nelsons’ apartment,  I added some white sugar  and eventually came up with a thick enough candy to coat my apples. 
If there is a next time, I think I will attempt a soft creamy caramel coating with chopped nuts and or chocolate.
 
Categories: Food and drink | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Sticky Situation

  1. Unknown

    Very pretty color apples.  They could be the apples of gold in pictures of silver, except I don’t think those were on a stick.However what I signed in for was to say, I love your house.  I don’t know what screen name Ruben has on here by the way– this is Heidi.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

