Commencement

Delight thyself also in the Lord and he shall give thee the desires of thine heart.

Psalm 37:4

Commencement is the beginning rather than the end of things.

Thanks to everyone for their greetings and congratulations. The formalities seem silly for "just" a certificate from a community and technical college. I am thankful for your encouragement. It was sort of fun to dress up like a grape in the purple cap and gown that was provided to each graduate for the Thursday evening ceremony at the U of M, too!

So, now you ask the expected questions: What will you do next? What can you do with your certificate? Well, I’ve caught the bug. Once a student always a student???

If my credits from Pillsbury Baptist Bible College transfer (now that they are accredited), I can get an Associates Degree in Applied Sciences by next May. I will have to take two semesters of Culinary Arts classes, Monday-Thursday 8 a.m. -2 p.m.

This is a good timing, we think. Joel has until February 2007 to finish his Thesis, and would walk at Central’s graduation ceremony in May. Then we can decide what and where is next. My having an undergrad degree would open up more possibilities. If we had an interest in teaching English abroad, there would be better jobs for someone with a degree. It might be interesting to actually get into the culinary field, too. I could make noise with the blenders and mixers and heat up the kitchens without making life in the apartment uncomfortable.

I just finished listening to Lynne Rossetto Kasper’s Stories from the Italian Country Table. It is a book on tape that I got from the library. Now I am inspired to be a food writer… along with pursuing my old dream of running a bed & breakfast… or living on a communal farm.

Maybe not, but it is fun to dream. For now I will register for classes and see what way God directs our paths.

I have not decided whether or not to keep working at Ault while going to school. I only put in 2 hours a day, usually. The drive is only 3 miles, and the pay is good. We will see what my boss, Kevin Miller, thinks (Please continue to pray for him and his 19-year-old son. Jeremy was in a motorcycle accident a few weeks ago. The coma-inducing drugs still have a few days to wear off before they can see if he has brain damage.).

Please pray for Joel and me. We will be busy with school and work. I don’t want to neglect him or the home. Business could either restrict our hospitality or open it up. We want to get back into having people over for Sunday dinners and the like. It’s fun (dangerous?) to practice on people! Stop on by. Make your reservation soon! ( :

 

Categories: Uncategorized | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Commencement

  1. dm

    Congratulations on your certificate!  Lori and I are looking forward to you and Joel openning up a b&b!  Do you remember the house that sits on Weisheimer near the Olentangy River?  That ouse is for sale for a mere $1.2 million!  Lori and I think THAT would be a GREAT b&b location!   🙂   I would LOVE to help you make an offer!   🙂

  2. Andy Rupert

    Was the wide eyed picture of bearded Joel taken before or after you got the idea of a bed & breakfast?

Leave a Reply

